fbpx

Browse Anonymously

Browser history deletion

You use a browser every day when you check your email, visit websites, log onto Facebook, do online banking, buy something online or use a search engine, such as Google.

Your browser tends to hold onto this information so deleting your browser history helps increase your privacy and keep your online history more secure, especially if you are on a shared computer or concerned about others viewing your online browser history.

It’s always a good idea to clear out the cache, or browser history, and clear cookies on a regular basis, as over time this can also cause difficulties logging in or bringing up websites. The drawback to this is that your saved usernames and passwords will be deleted and you’ll need to re-enter them.

Each of the browsers listed below link to instructions on user history deletion for that specific browser.

Google Chrome

Mozilla Firefox

Microsoft Internet Explorer

Apple Safari

Additional online safety resources

Wesnet technology safety resource and tools

Information about the COVIDsafe app

How to delete your Google activity

How to delete your Facebook search history

Need support?

If you are being abused online or through technology you can contact WIRE to explore your options for safety. Call 1300 134 130, email support@wire.org.au or click the orange ‘need support’ button in the bottom left to access web chat.

Stay Updated

Stay up to date with the latest news from WIRE; empowering women, one fortnightly e-bulletin at a time!